Affiliated Associations

The Kerry Coastal Rowing Association was established in 2002 with the first chairperson being JP O Sullivan, Secretary Norma Moriarty, PRO Mary B Teahan and Treasurer Johannna King. With hard work and dedication the association has grown to be the largest in the country boasting clubs from the Mid and South Kerry traditional wooden 4 oar areas to the Killarney Clubs with the their traditional sixes and now Ballyheigue and Fenit all buying into the One Design Boat.  Any rowing club within Kerry was welcomed to join and our County Championship regattas were set up to have competition in the One Design boats. Kerry has a number of rowing associations running different style boat regattas and the only reasons that the Kerry Coastal Rowing Association was setup was for two main reasons to recognise the ICRF Irish Coastal Rowing Federation as the governing body of Coastal rowing in the country and the Committee promised the clubs that it would never replace the traditional boats held in high esteem in different parts of Kerry ever with the One Design Boats but work along side the clubs in encouraging more to take up the beautiful tradition of our beloved Sport Rowing and with this principal in mind it has enhanced our association to be one of the strongest and biggest in the country. Ultimately the KCRA respect and work closely with all rowing boards within Kerry to encourage rowing.

Under the watchful eye of the KRCA the All Ireland Coastal Rowing Championships were held in Cromane in 2003 and Waterville in 2009 and in Waterville again in 2014 hosted for the first time in the history of the All Ireland Coastal Rowing Championships by an Association and as the two previous All Irelands it was a huge success. Our clubs are

  1. Cromane
  2. Callinafercy
  3. Killorglin
  4. Fenit
  5. Ballyheigue
  6. Workmens
  7. Flesk Valley
  8. Fossa
  9. Cahirsiveen
  10. Sive
  11. Over the Water
  12. Valentia
  13. Portmagee
  14. Waterville/Castlecove
  15. Caherdaniel
  16. Templenoe
  17. Sneem
  18. Ballinskelligs